gluten free banana bread vs. banana almond muffins

Tonight we spend the evening at home.  It’s been snowing off and on all day.  We watched shows and cleaned and did laundry.  Not very exciting but was good.  I had 7 bananas that were ripe and in need of being  used.  When it’s cold outside and we are cozy inside I feel like eating warm and filling foods.  I found a really cool blog and tried out two of her banana bread/muffin recipes.   I decided to go gluten free so I can share them with my lil’sis tomorrow.  It will make her day to have a gluten free treat.

http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/2013/02/23/bah-nana-bread/

vs.

http://heathereatsalmondbutter.com/recipes/almond-butter-banana-muffins/

My thoughts?

The bah-nana-bread as she calles it, was easier to make, fluffy and really good.  MizS loved it.  I didn’t have sour cream so I added an extra banana and 1/4 c cottage cheese.  I also only did 1/4 c or less of sugar.  It was significantly lighter than the muffins.  I only had to cook for about 45-50 minutes, so watch it closely.  I’ll totally make this again!

The muffins take 1/4 the time to cook.  They are hearty and tasty.  I added agave instead of the fancy non-sugar sugars she has on her recipe.  They were delicious with a litte butter.  B loved them (more than my berry muffins).  I’ll make them again as they felt hearty and filling being made with oat flour and they were great!  I’ll also cut back on the choc chips!

Don’t you love the internets and all of the amazing people you can connect with and all the delicious recipes, amazing ideas, and fascinating stories.

2 Responses to gluten free banana bread vs. banana almond muffins

  1. Sounds like you guys enjoyed both recipes which makes me happy. Thanks for your kind words regarding my blog, and I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend. Stay warm and cozy. 🙂

    • lifeonbonita says:

      Thanks Heather. I cut back the sugar a little bit too much, but my lil sis (who has down-syndrome & has celiac) said that “she loved that banana bread”! I’ll be back to your blog but thanks for stopping by! Cheers! C

Leave a Reply

