whole wheat banana waffles

Tonight we needed some comfort food for dinner.   Not only is it free-to-the-zing out side but B didn’t have the greatest day.  Sometimes people are lame, nuff said.  So, I decided that we needed some waffles.  He had a singer/songwriter over for a evening session in the studio so I whipped up some of these babies and they were money I tell you. MONEY!  They loved them.  So, without further adieu I give you…Whole wheat waffles.

20130122-213147.jpg

Whole wheat banana waffles.  Adapted from this reipe .  I don’t have the beautiful photos but you still get the point.

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 eggs, beaten (I beat mine by hand 60 times)
1 3/4 cup skim milk (I used 2%…I no likey skim)
4 tsp. baking powder
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1 tsp. agave
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg (I did not have nutmeg and it was fine without it!)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Mashed the bananas and whisked the eggs prior to adding them.  Add everything to the same bowl, mixed up until  smooth and fluffy.  Cook on medium heat on the waffle iron. Don’t add batter until the waffle iron is hot.  Make sure to spray the waffle iron, but you know that already!  Yield: 9 delicious waffles.  I served with fresh strawberries, bannans and maple syrup.
We were some happy humans 🙂

20130122-213211.jpg

Proof that everything was just thrown into on bowl.  It came out great!

P.S.  This is what $24 can get you thorough the food co-op we participate in.  Affordable healthy eating.  YES!

20130122-213236.jpg

Leave a Reply

