easy roasting

There is just something about winter that makes me want to eat lots of veggies, warm and roasty style.  I’ve been really into roasting lately, it’s easy, its’ filling and I can use whatever I have on hand and it tastes really great.

Here is what you do.

You cut up whatever veggies you have on hand; anything that is in your veggie drawer will work.  I have  a 25lb bag of potatoes and 25lb bag of onions in my basement that are pretty much staples at every winter time meal for us.   You just prep everything, throw in some olive oil and some spices on it and put it in the oven at about 350ish for an hour.   Frozen veggies will work too but just aren’t as tasty as fresh.  I paired it with a butternut squash I had from my garden.  Isin’t it the best feeling to eat food from your garden in January.  Love that.

easy roast

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 1 hour
Serves: 2-3

-4 frozen chicken tenderloins
-4 carrots
-1 onion
-1 large potato
-2T olive oil
-Salt & Pepper
-Any other spices you enjoy (I use sage, basil and a 21 spice belnd from trader joes & red pepper flakes for a kick)
-Opt. a little water for moisture

Enjoy!!

p.s. I roasted again tonight and I added a medley of colored carrots, brussel sprouts, potatoes and peppers.  I’m out of onions so you can use whatever you have on hand!

 

Leave a Reply

