whole wheat berry muffins

Growing up in Utah means lots of snow.  Which I love.  My mom would always have warm goodies ready for us when we came in from the cold.  She was awesome like that.  I loved her homeade hot coco recipe, which i’ll have to post on here, and she would often make us muffins on cold snowy mornings.  So naturally, when it snowed and snowed last weekend I decided we needed some muffins.  I whipped up some whole wheat berry muffins, with cream cheese.  They turned out pretty good but a little heavy.  Whole wheat will do that.  You don’t have to use whole wheat flour (the recipe just calls for flour) but I always try to sub whole wheat wherever I can.  B is getting used to it :). I also cut back on the sugar which turned out ok too.   B is also getting used to that too.  Overall they turned out yummy and the best part was we had hearty homemade muffins all weekend for breakfast.  B brought me warmed up muffins on sunday morning for Breakfast in bed.  He’s a sweetie.

berry muffins

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes (But watch them, mine cooked faster)
Yield: 1 dozen

  • 2 c. flour  (I used 1.3/4 cup whole wheat and 1/4 c white)
  • 1T baking powder
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 3T sugar ( I only did 1T and they turned out great.  I’d use honey next time)
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1 cup milk (I subbed milk for almond milk since I didn’t have regular milk)
  • 3T oil
  • Mix dry ingredients in one bowl.  In another bowl mix wet ingredients, egg, milk and oil.  Combine all at once.  Stir.  Add berries (fresh or frozen.  If frozen I’d defrost them in water and then drain.  Add the berries at the very end to mix as least as possible.  If you do whole wheat the dough will be think so you can add a little more milk if you need too.  Spray the muffin tin or use cups.    Spoon into tins until 3/4 full.  I wanted to try some cream cheese so I added some chunks to the muffins and it was a great addition.  Add 2-3 chunks  of cream cheese when the mix is in the cup.  It’s too messy otherwise.  Bake at 450 for 20-25 minutes   Mine cooked in 10-15 so watch them carefully.  You don’t want to burn these tastly little gems!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

