bulb planting

I am not sure where the fall went? And, I totally forgot to plant my bulbs.  Luckily december gave us 65 degree weather.  I read somewhere that an adventurous lady in Northern Utah planted her bulbs in December, and they did fine.  I also read this article on bulb splitting/planting/thinning and they say late summer/september.  I’m not sure who to trust.  I don’t want to wait until next year to plant them, so I planted my bulbs on Saturday, December 1st.  We’ll see if this works.

I planted a variety of red tulips and yellow daffodils.  Because we were expanding our garden I also had 15 years of Iris to thin and reaplant and I didn’t want to waste them.  So, I replanted those as well.  I planted them all over my yard in 2-5 bulb clumps with varying sunlight from full sun/partial sun/lots of shade.  It will be good to see how they do and if planting on December 1st really works. Still need to get my garlic in; ran out of daylight.  My cute SIL helped me plant the rest of the bulbs by flashlight!  She is the best!

Iris bulbs

Iris bulbs

_

When & Where do you plant bulbs?

Leave a Reply

